Join a Gift Society

Annual Leadership Societies

“Hold on to instruction, do not let it go; guard it well, for it is your life.”

—Proverbs 4:13

An annual gift provides support for Samford University and its comprehensive mission to offer quality edu­cation in a supportive environment with basic Christian values. Participation at any level gives you, the donor, an opportunity to establish a partnership with virtually every faculty member and student in each school or department of the university.

Your partici­pation places you at the heart of Samford’s reason for being.

The life and work of every great institution is ­ultimately the result of the commitment and support of a company of friends who believe deeply in the mission of the institution, and who invest faithfully and generously in its work. Please consider investing in this institution and its future. Samford University appreciates your participation at any level.

The 1841 Society (less than $100)

Chartered in 1841, Samford opened its doors in 1842 without sufficient funds or planning. Certainly, none of the original 15 founders could have foreseen either the hardships or the success that would follow. Samford emerged from those ­humble beginnings through the ongoing support of people with similar commitment. The 1841 Society includes members who provide the university with a supporting ­constituency that declares its partnership with faculty, administration, support staff and peers. United, donors share a significant role in the education and development of students who come to Samford to ­prepare for future leadership in a broad variety of ­vocations and service to all strata of society. Donors of less than $100 annually are acknowledged as members of the 1841 Society. 

The Century Society ($100–499)

Samford is in its second century of providing excellence in higher education. With the renewed support of faithful annual donors, our University continues to increase the value of a Samford education. Donors of $100 or more annually are acknowledged as members of the Century Society.

The Sherman Oak Society ($500–999)

Sherman Oak, the best-known landmark of the East Lake campus, was a gathering place for students at the center of the quadrangle. For those who attended East Lake, Sherman Oak may evoke warm memories of college days. Donors of $500 or more are acknowledged as members of the Sherman Oak Society.

The President’s Society ($1,000–4,999)

Faithful annual donors share the dedication of Samford’s leaders to see the ­university maintain a level of excellence. Donors of $1,000 or more annually are acknowledged as members of the President’s Society, Dean’s Council or Director’s Cabinet for members who wish to designate for a particular school within the university.

The Chairman’s Society ($5,000–9,999)

The Chairman’s Society bears the name of the board of trustees chairman and helps perpetuate the spirit that characterizes his work. A partnership with Samford at this level is an important contribution that places donors in the company of all those who have helped maintain that tradition. Donors of $5,000 or more annually are acknowledged as members of the Chairman’s Society.

The Howard Society ($10,000+)

Founded as Howard College, the University we know today has been built with the generosity of those who had and have a great vision. Samford University continues to excel in providing a quality education within a Christian environment. It will continue such progress into the future only as ­others join and share that vision. Donors of $10,000 or more annually are acknowledged as members of the Howard Society.

Founders Circle

Samford has been sustained through the years by the generous gifts of many faithful friends.  Samford as we know it today is far removed from the college that opened with nine students and had the president as the only teacher. Several times in the school’s history, both in the early years in Marion, Ala., and later in Birmingham, friends of the school gave special assistance to keep the doors open. The Founders Circle honors those who have supported the university with annual financial commitments for at least 35 years